Kanyakumari.co.nr - The Complete web portal for kanyakumari



Directory News   Tamil Blogs   Fun   Forum  


Tourism Special

Kanyakumari  Tourist Spots
How to Reach ?
Kanyakumari Hotels
Hotel Booking
Train Info
Theme Park-Baywatch
Tourism Reviews

Kanyakumari Info

Kanyakumari Directory
Kanyakumari News
Village Of the Week
Kanyakumari Recipe
Contact Us
Add Your Site
Guest Book























































Read This Page In your Language


News Categories - News Included before election 2006

News About  DMDK & Vijayakanth News About  
Communist Party of India (CPI)
News About  Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) News About  ACommunist Party of India(Marxist) - CPM
News About  DMK News About  Congress
News About  AIADMK - ADMK News About  Election Forecasting - Opinion Poll
News About DPI (Dalit Panther 's of India) Assembly Election : 2001 Results
Kanyakumari Election Winning Candidates


Location Candidate Party
Kanniyakumari SURESH RAJAN.N Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ( DMK )
Nagercoil RAJAN.A

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ( DMK )

Colachel JEYAPAUL.S Indian National Congress ( INC )
Padmanabhapuram THEODARE REGINALD.T Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ( DMK )
Thiruvattar LEEMA ROSE.R Communist Party of India (Marxist) ( CPI )
Vilavancode JOHN JOSEPH,G Communist Party of India (Marxist) ( CPI )
Killiyoor JOHN JACOB.S Indian National Congress
View More detailed news (candidates and the votes they have got)
Enter Exit

Tamilnadu Election Result Complete Coverage
Superstar Rajinikanth congratulates DMK Chief Mr.Karunanidhi:

Chennai: Film star Rajinikanth, who gave a free hand to his fans to support any party they chose in the assembly elections, on Thursday congratulated DMK Chief M Karunanidhi for leading the DPA to victory in the 2006 Assembly polls.

"This is your victory totally. This is a victory for your mature experience. I wish and pray for your long life and good health," he said in a faxed message to the DMK chief.

Rajnikanth's call to the electorate to vote for the DMK-TMC coaltion in 1996 had also helped the alliance come to power then.
Karunanidhi wins for record 11th time Thursday, 11 May , 2006, 16:14

Chennai: DMK President M Karunanidhi has been elected to the state assembly for a record eleventh time.

Karunanidhi recorded his hat-trick win from Chepuak constituency, when he defeated Dawood Miakhan of the splinter group of Indian Union Muslim league by a margin of 8,522 votes.

Karunanidhi has never tasted defeat from 1957, when he contested the assembly polls for the first time.

He was then elected to the state assembly from Kulithalai, from Thanjavur in 1962, from Saidapet in 1967 and 1971, from Anna Nagar in 1977 and 1980, from Chennai harbour in 1989 and 1991 and from Chepauk in 1996, 2001 and 2006.


No coalition with anyone: Vijaykant Thursday, 11 May , 2006, 22:01

Chennai: Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) founder and actor Vijayakanth said he would not prefer being part of any coalition in the state during the next five years.

Talking to presspersons after successfully opening his party's account by winning the sole seat in Virudhachalam, he said he personally would refrain from siding with any major parties here, but added that he would have to consider the opinion of his candidates in this context.

A new entrant to politics, Vijayakant, who chose to field candidates in 232 seats in the May 8 elections, termed his party's performance as very satisfactory.


Minister loses by 53 votes Thursday, 11 May , 2006, 20:49

Coimbatore: R Chinnasamy of the AIADMK has won by just 14 votes in Singanallur, perhaps the lowest in the state, while Koavai Thangam of the Congress registered the highest margin of 20,979 in the 15 constituencies coming under Coimbatore region in the assembly elections.

Animal Husbandry Minister P V Damodaran lost to S Mani of the DMK by 53 votes, while O K Chinnaraj of the AIADMK won by 142 votes, defeating B Arunkumar of the DMK in Mettupalayam


Victory of the combined leadership: Cong Thursday, 11 May , 2006, 15:05

Chennai: Delighted over the 2006 Tamil Nadu assembly poll verdict, the Congress described it as a victory of the "combined leadership of AICC Chief Sonia Gandhi and DMK Chief M Karunanidhi".

This was the second time since 2004 Lok Sabha polls that the strength of the combined leadership had demonstrated its power, TNCC president M Krishnaswamy, said in Chennai in a release.

He claimed that use of money power and use of office by the AIADMK in attempting to "weaken the DPA and tarnish its image had only a negative effect".

AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa had "underestimated the votersí power by adopting a strategy to weaken the DPA and spread malicious falsehood against the front allies, he alleged. She brought MDMK and DPI in its fold and enticed film personalities for campaign.

However, the strong alliance had prevailed, he said.